How do you refer to your donor?

Forums Donor Conceived People How do you refer to your donor?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of AnthProfAnthProf
    Participant

I’m a Professor of Anthropology at the University of Kansas doing research on connections formed through donor insemination as compared with the conventional family. I hope to post several questions to the group in the near future, and today I want to begin with a very simple one, directed to individuals conceived with donor sperm. Please be sure to answer all three parts of the question.

1) Have you had any contact with your donor? If so, is it person-to-person, by telephone, or online? What kind of relationship do you have with him? One meeting only? Occasional? Cordial? Strained? Close? Would you describe it in some other way?

2) What term do you use to refer to your donor? Father? Dad? Daddy? Donor? Some other term? No term at all?

3) Is your mother a single mother, or does she have a lesbian or male husband/partner who was in your household as you grew up? If the latter, what term do you use to refer to that person?

Thanks very much for your answer! It will be very helpful to my research.

Allan Hanson
    Professor of Anthropology
    University of Kansas

Profile photo of CMartin1981CMartin1981
    Participant

Hello, Prof. Hanson. I was conceived at KU and would be happy to answer your questions.

1) Yes, I have had contact, only by letter. I introduced myself in a letter and he answered my questions, by letter, and asked me never to contact him again. I don’t have an adjective for that sort of relationship except perhaps “non-existent.”

2) I refer to him as my “biological father” or, in instances where more clarification is necessary, my “sperm donor father.” I have only ever addressed him by his full name.

3) I grew up in a heterosexual two-parent household with my mother and dad. I refer to my social father as my “dad.”